What's New

Liss Pavilion Consultation - Saturday 24th June 2017, 2-4pm, Liss Village Hall

At our last consultation you told us the style of building you would like, now is your chance to let us know what you think of the interior layout and see the the latest proposals.

If you can't make it on the day, you will be able to see the details online and provide comments via email.

24 May 2017

We are very sad to announce that former Councillor Robin Stockwell passed away on 13 May 2017.  Robin was a member of Liss Parish Council for 2 years retiring in July 2005.  He was also Liss Parish Council's appointed representative on the Liss Greatham Sick Poor Fund.  He will be much missed by everyone.  We send our deepest sympathies to his family.

New chairman
Cllr Keith Budden has stood down from as chairman after a maximum of four years in one term. Cllr Roger Hargreaves was elected as the new chairman at the annual meeting of Council on 15 My 2017 and Cllr Budden as vice-chairman.

Assistant Clerk Sarah Smith has been appointed to the role of Joint Clerk with effect from 15th May 2017. Dick Bowery will continue in the role as Joint Clerk.

Neighbourhood Plan Public Hearing - 30th June 2017 at 10.00am
The Liss Neighbourhood Plan was submitted to the South Downs National Park Authority for examination (regulation 16) on 28 November 2016.  A period of public consultation was held from 16 December 2016 to 10 February 2017 inviting representations on whether the Liss Neighbourhood Plan meets the basic conditions, and other matters set out in paragraph 8 of Schedule 4B to the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 (as amended).
The independent examiner has reviewed the representations received and considers a hearing is necessary to ensure adequate examination of a number of issues that have arisen which are set out in the agenda below. One day will be set aside for the public hearing. The public hearing, will open at 10 am on 30 June 2017 at Liss Village Hall, 41 Hill Brow Rd, Liss GU33 7LA.

For further information click the link below:
Liss Village Day - Saturday 20th May 2017, noon 'til 4.30pm 
Come along to the Newman Collard Playing Fields and join the fun (games, raffle, dog show Liss Band, hog roast, bar and more!) and support the Newman Collard Playing Field Trust.

Vacancy for Assistant Grounds Maintenance Worker
 Liss Parish Council has a vacancy for a part-time assistant grounds maintenance worker.  Click here for details.

Mobile Post Office Hours in Liss Forest
The opening hours for the mobile post office in Liss Forest are changing. From 1st April 2017 the mobile post office will open from 14.00 to 15.30 on Tuesdays and 13.00 to 14.30 on Wednesdays.  

Villager of the Year 2016/2017
Congratulations to Sandra Berriman who was voted Villager of the Year.  She was awarded the trophy for her valuable work with Liss Heart Trust and the Triangle Centre. 

Councillor Vacancies 
Liss Parish Council currently has two councillor vacancies.  Local councillors work on issues and make decisions that touch
the lives of everyone who visits, works or lives in the village. There’s no
type of person who’s best suited to be a councillor - it is important that
local councils represent the full range of local opinion. Please contact the Clerk if you wish to know more or would like to make an application.

Villager of the Year AwardEach year, at the Annual Parish Meeting, LPC presents the “Villager of the Year Award”. This award is made in recognition of an individual’s contribution to the community of Liss of anextended or an important voluntary nature. This may be service to a single organisation, or to several groups.
LPC Councillors would welcome any nominations from residents of Liss. Please give your nominations, in writing, to the Parish Clerk by 15th February 2017.

Liss Pavilion Project 
Please click on the Liss Pavilion Development Committee for the latest on the project, including all the information displayed at the Public Consultation on Saturday 26th November. Feedback is still welcome.

27 June 2016

We are very sad to announce that Councillor Elwyn Thomas passed away early on Saturday 25th June. Elwyn was a member of Liss Parish Council for 5 years and played a key role, including chairing the Buildings Committee for the last five years and devoted countless hours to the West Liss Pavilion Project. He will be much missed by everyone. We send our deepest sympathies to his family.